top of page

Creativity "traits"?


While working on my bibliography list...one of the most "exciting" activities a Phd student could do! at 8.30pm on a Thursday evening...Ive realised that Ive only read about 5 books. This seemed rather low compared to the hundreds of article journals I am using to compile my literature review. Now...I am sure that there is no magical number which could tell me how many should I have, but Ive felt compelled to do something about this. And I did...Ive read another journal article! but this time an article that was reviewing a book"Greatness: Who makes history and why" written by Colin Martindale in the Creativity Research Journal. While the book is not directly linked to my research, it seems to promise a fascinating read. Here is a tiny extract written by the reviewer Prof. Martindale on the traits of creative famous individuals: "Based on historical data, you should be a first born son of middle aged parents, at least one of whom should die while are a child" (...) Gauss was working on a mathematical problem when a servant came to tell him that his wife was dying: Tell her to wait a moment till I am through - he replied". It seems to be a perfect book to read during this short Easter break.

bottom of page